This Should answer Some Questions October 15, 2012

Louise Sorensen 0ctober 9, 2012  shortlink http://wp.me/p1BAlV-3j

“The Next Big Thing” –I’ve been tagged by Julia Hughes to answer She Writes questions.

1) What is the working title of your book?

Josey Buck and the Hermit Dragon. I’ve been wracking my brain for another title, but so far, this one has stuck.

2) Where did the idea come for the book?

I wrote a year of short story flash fictions with prompts from Chuck Wendig at  terribleminds.com  and got the idea for this story from a randomly generated sentence assignment.

I think Phillip K. Dick may have used randomly generated sentences, to judge from his story ‘Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?’ which was the inspiration for the movie ’Blade Runner.’

I learned a lot from this year of short story flashes. How to write prose, how to make it short and succinct, what works for me to develop a story;  music, visual images, random generated sentences. But most importantly, I learned that I actually can write.

3) What genre does your book fall under?     Scifi.

4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

For the two main male parts, I would say Michael Fassbender and Joe Flanigan. Although this would be a different role than we’re used to seeing the latter play. For the female protagonist, I don’t know. Should it ever be made into a movie, we’ll see.

5) What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

A woman finds herself in an impossible situation and seeks escape.

6) Will your book be self published or represented by an agency?

Likely self published, although I will keep all options open.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

At the moment, it’s five months and counting. Although I am writing, polishing and presenting it to my writing workshop simultaneously, so it’s a little more than a first draft.

Not only is this the longest piece I’ve ever worked on, but I’ve also had a lot of interruptions since I started. The universe seems to know. Though even when I’m not able to sit down and write, I find my mind constantly chewing on the story. So it’s working out.

The way I’m writing this story is not a method I would recommend, but I’ve found that the first time I do something is generally a train wreck. By persisting with this story, I’m developing work habits and methods that help the process and I believe that writing longer pieces will get easier with practice.

I’ve resigned myself to being one of those writers who takes forever to finish a book. There’s so much pressure these days to hurry up, finish and then self publish, that people forget that you don’t have to do this. The book isn’t going to be any better for being written and published in a hurry. Joy can be in the journey too. Since I adopted that attitude, I’ve enjoyed my writing much more. And I think that I’m writing easier and faster, for not feeling pressured.

8) What other books would you compare this to in your genre?

I can’t think of another book that’s very close. Although ‘Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?’ may be one. I’m not sure anyone else would see the comparison.

9) Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I’m inspired by what has happened to me in my own life, and what I see going on in the world today. Plus, where I think technology may go.

10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

This is the hardest question of all. I’m writing as honestly and accurately as I can, but the story at first probably sounds like high fantasy. It isn’t. I’m basing it completely on facts, and extrapolated science. Although the concepts may sound magical, I believe they could be possible some day.

Thanks very much to Julia Hughes @tinksaid on twitter,

http://www.juliahughes.co.uk/julias-blog.html who nominated me for She Writes “ The Next Big thing.” http://www.shewrites.com/profiles/blogs/the-next-big-thing-2?xg_source=activity

About louisesor

As I say in my twitter profile @louise3anne "I am a part of all that I have met..." from one of my favourite poems, 'Ulysses' by Tennyson.I believe that we are ALL a part of all that we have met. You can also find me on FaceBook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This Should answer Some Questions October 15, 2012

  1. Julia Hughes says:

    Hi Louise, I thought of you immediately when asked to tag other “She Writers” for “The Next Big Thing” – your flash fiction pieces create a world in 1,000 words – if you can do that – I can’t wait to discover what you’ll achieve once let off the leash! Your observation “Joy can be in the journey too” struck a chord, in these manic times, it’s a truism well worth remembering.
    Thank you for accepting this challenge, and revealing a little more about your work in progress; I’m intrigued by your promise of “magical” concepts, or rather futuristic science becoming fact in your story, and while I wish you well in your journey, I’m also looking forward to the publication of “Josey Buck and the Hermit Dragon”.
    Julia xx

    • louisesor says:

      Hi Julia. You are a sweetie. I hope you aren’t disappointed with the final story.
      The way technology is going, in a few hundred years, even less, a person alive today seeing the future, would have a hard time believing it wasn’t magic.
      I wish I could have a window on say 200 years from now to see what’s going on. When I use my tablet to tweet, check my e-mail, google any fact I want to know, or watch videos and my favourite music on youtube, I think of the tablets they carry around on Star Trek Voyager.
      Art pulls us forward, technology makes it real.
      Thanks for commenting. I love comments. Big huggs. : )

  2. Louise, I concord with you about writing at your pace. The journey you take from point A to point B is the most important aspect in life. I’m mightly interested in the kind of science fiction you write, and I like futuristic scenarios a la` Dick. Good luck in your journey, have fun!

  3. george-b says:

    Congrats Louise, and thanks for favoring my tweet: Indeed awards are great encouragement, and blogging function, I still work, for another one, and I don’t seem to be able to publish it. I will soon though!
    This goes to you, with many thanks Louise:

    George.

    • louisesor says:

      Hi George. Thank you for the beautiful song.
      I still work, and am not published yet as well. It’s a lot of effort to finish enough pieces to publish.
      Just one of those thing that I keep plugging away at daily.
      I was surprised at the words in the song, to the effect that (someday you’ll wake up and wish you were young, wish it could all be undone) from so young a singer. I really appreciate your thinking of me. : )

Leave a Reply

