Poem: My Name Louise Sorensen August 18,2010

       My Name

Beyond the farthest depths

of space and time

I waited to be born.

Mass speeding into light and back again,

from the first loud bang

to dust of stars.

Dim glitters of cells collect,

and worlds begin.

Sunshine waves

ride shallow seas.

Escape from death lies gasping

on the muddy shore.

Trading fins for claws and teeth,

dying in the bright sky fire.

Scurrying through vast halls of bones.

Kill or die,

kill or die

aeon after aeon.

Growing fitter year by year,

but oh, so slow.

Memory; bright eyes, soft lips,

stone and fire.

Wrestling matches under robes of fur.

Laughter.

And gradually I think.

And I become.

An endless chain of golden sons and daughters.

Link by link they hold me to the now.

Until someday I find

 I can remember.

My name is woman.

But I am starlight.

 

About louisesor

As I say in my twitter profile @louise3anne "I am a part of all that I have met..." from one of my favourite poems, 'Ulysses' by Tennyson.I believe that we are ALL a part of all that we have met. You can also find me on FaceBook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem: My Name Louise Sorensen August 18,2010

  1. Thanks Louise for sharing your poems with me…I really enjoyed your word usage, space and time…Best wishes, and love, Nora

Leave a Reply

